Little Blog of Horrors

It’s 5 in the morning here at work. Things are slowing down before the morning rush, and I’ve been sitting here bathing myself in memories. The sound of, “Give me a live f-ing human being, computer!” snaps be back to reality.

I didn’t realize I was going to have such a nostalgic weekend. I saw Into the Woods, which is the first Zilker show I saw, and where I found my first two roommates/tenants from when I used to own a house-one of which lead to the loss of my house(but I digress). Then there was Sweeney and Little Shop; Sweeney being the first show I saw in Austin and Little Shop being especially close to my heart. It was the last show as a senior in high school. I was nominated for being the entire male chorus at St. Ed’s, and formed friendships with Cochon (Wow wow!) and Chachi (Yip Yip Yip!). I’ve been watching some old Popeye toons, which is probably the cartoon which influenced my interest in cartoon history the most. I’ve been eating the ox tail soup, of which I had the last serving about an hour ago, which reminds me of home and Ma’s cooking in general. Frog Prince is ending, and that just makes me think of all the other kids shows I’ve done.

I’m not really going anywhere with this. I’m just enjoying, I guess, the breeze time leaves as it passes us by so quickly. We get older, but we will always have the memories, good or bad, to hold onto. “Some wounds cannot heal, and lead us to drink without regret. One drink to remember, then another to forget. We forget because we must, for Fate can be mercilessly unjust.”

Yeah, that’s not the happiest of quotes, but I like how it refers to the bad memories. They help make us who we are. That one part “one drink to remember”… It’s like, “I want to forget the pain, I don’t want to think about it, but I don’t want to let go of the memory.” I don’t like thinking about having lost my house, but damn I had a good time there while it lasted. Or maybe I’m alone on that thought. I dunno.

I was gonna talk about Sweeney and Little Shop, but I think I’m not necessarily going to give my two pennies as originally planned. I talked about Sweeney with some friends yesterday, talking about worked and what didn’t, performers whom I liked and didn’t. Then I got called out on my criticism. “Are you just saying that because you thought you would have been better?” (or something like that).

I know it was said in jest, but he had a point. Maybe I was. Actually, for one of the characters, yeah, I subconsciously was, but that’s not what’s important. I’m not a critic, so I’m not going to criticize. I am, however, a patron, so I will patronize (as in support, not be condescending). The shows are fun and entertaining. Go watch them and support your friends. Make a date out of it. Get an early dinner, go see the show, and maybe end the night with some bowling or miniature golf or something. It’ll be a memory you won’t soon forget.

Okay, the morning rush is starting a little early, and I need to do my shift report and other duties, so I guess I leave you with a bit of a toast to time/memories:
All my love to long ago;
to days yet to come.

Bully.

One Response to “Little Blog of Horrors”

  1. Abbeynormal Says:

    Bad memories, just like the good, shape who we are and where we’re at in life. If all we remembered was the good, we would make the same mistakes over and over again.

Leave a Reply

