“… and I WANT my nazi Blogs.”

Personally, I find Quentin Tarantino full of himself. I think he’s a self righteous, know-it-all, pompous, egotistical douche. But damn I respect him and enjoy his movies.

I saw Inglourious Basterds yesterday, and I thought it was better than District 9. Sorry, Josh. I’m ready to see it again. I was ready to see it again when the credits began to roll. I wanted more of these characters, all of them. I guess I’ll give a bit of a review of what worked so well for me.

****SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS SOILERS OILERS BOILERS COILERS FOILERS****

The movie begins with the introduction of the main antagonist, Hans Somethingorother. Lander, I think. Sorry I’m gonna be lazy and not look it up. The actor does such a great job with him and Quentin makes you want to like this monster. This man is called the Jew Hunter and, in this first chapter, he loves it, because he has “earned it”. This man is the antagonist, but you can’t help but like him. He just oozes charm. Well, not charm per se, because people don’t like him. It’s more of an intellectual charm; he disarms you with his social wit. Tarantino even gives the audience a hint as to how clever he is. In his first (of the movie) interrogation a Frenchman asks if he can smoke his pipe. Hans lets him, but also wants to smoke his; its a way of saying, “See? I’m just like you.”

But his pipe dwarfs the French dairyman’s. Yes, I am like you, but I’m a much bigger, more important person. I get what I want. The pipe itself is the hint as to how this man is the German equivalent to a famous detective. If you haven’t figured it out by this point, I’ll just say Katie HOLMES is not a direct descendant of this famous British detective. Mostly cause he is a fictional character, but also because Katie’s a moron-a very attractive moron though, but I digress.

He’s so elegant at what he does; from the beginning, the audience begins to respect him, even after they were already despising him.

What makes this character so full and even more complex is he is a turncoat. This may not make sense unless you see the movie, but I consider him a brave coward. He comes to abhor what he is doing, even saying he hates his given nickname later in the film. He knows he’s on the losing side and wants to be on the winning side. Not only does he “surrender”, he actively helps the Basterds, even though a part of him still wants to defend his country (i.e. killing the actress for being a traitor); he still likes the chase and victory of solving a mystery (the bodies at the tavern). In the restaurant, he asks Milliene to stay behind to chat about the security at her theater and another important question. He asks the waiter to bring her a glass of milk and says he forgot his final question, which must “have not been that important”. I think he’s teasing her. He knows full well that she is Shoshanna (the young girl from the family of Jewish dairy farmers who escaped him at the beginning of the film) and he’s slyly letting her know he’s openly letting her live. He goes so far as to put dynamite in Hitler’s soapbox after he has confiscated it from Aldoe (Brad Pitt), before taking him and another Basterd to a private location where he negotiates his surrender and becomes a hero. A war hero, not the protagonist type of hero. When you get down to it, this colonel is a despicable man, having killed so many Jews; however his love for wanting to understand how people do what they do, and figuring out why overshadows it so much, even his almost proud cowardice and traitorousness (I think I just made a word), you respect the man. Much like how I feel about Tarantino. You find yourself, after the movie, realizing you liked a nazi.

Now he’s not the only reason this movie was great. Brad Pitt turns in one of his few good performances. Man, when Brad is used right, he’s a great actor. This movie is a fine example of how great an actor he can be. Eli Roth was also a compelling actor. Stiglitz was probably my favorite of the Basterds. You know certain characters were going to die, but you still had that glimmer of hope that they just might make it. All the actors. Even the drunk new father nazi soldier at the tavern. I wanted more of EVERYONE. It was like I was at the best buffet ever but was only allowed a bite of each dish. I knew there was more, I COULD SEE there was more, but I couldn’t have it. Please go see this movie. Call me. I’ll go with you.

But don’t pay too much attention to my review, I don’t want to raise your expectations too high the way mine were for District 9. I just want you to give your own review. And I want my nazi reviews.

BULLY.

One Response to ““… and I WANT my nazi Blogs.””

  1. Josh, the guy from this blog Says:

    I just saw this, and I think our roles have reversed. As the hype was too big for you in District 9, such was the case for me with basterds.
    I also think Tarantino is full of himself, yet I love almost all his movies (jackie brown boo). So I was very excited to see this one. The opening sequence made me giddy with excitement. When Tarantino is on with his dialogue, and he gets an actor that can really dig deep into the roll (Hans somethingorother from this movie…Michael Madson from Reservoir AND Kill Bill), nothing is better. I loved the opening sequence. The analogy of a rat, the pipe, even letting the girl go so he can hunt her later. Awesome.
    Moving on to the scene where we meet the Bear Jew and also the German turn coat basterd. This scene was marvelous. I loved all the basterds, and as you said, I wanted more. I wanted more of everyone. Wilhelm in the bar, the english officer that blows it in the bar, I wanted to hear their story.
    So the movie moves along, funny at times, gory as all hell at times, and it comes to the final 30 minutes. The big cinema barbeque. And somewhere, in that final blood bath, something happened…i got annoyed. I got bored. I did not care about any of the characters anymore. Kill them all, let them all live, I didn’t care. Why? I think it is because, I had seen this movie before. In every single Tarantino movie ever made. Everything in this movie was a ripoff or descendant of his previous movies. The scalping (kill bill 1) the early death of characters you like (the german in the tavern and Jon Travolta in Pulp), the chapter titles, the music, the 70’s exploitation style camera shots. All of it had been done. There was nothing new. Nothing to get wowed at.
    If I had seen this movie on opening night, without hearing any reviews, and knowing it was Tarantino wanting to shoot hitler in the face, then I would have turned off my mind and watched nazi’s getting killed and loved every second. But this was Tarantino’s “masterpiece”. It was “amazing”.
    (and on a side bar, big deal about Pitt’s performance. While I thought it was fun, it was not anything to rave about. There was no character arc, no conflict for him to overcome, no emotion. Just his slingblade accent and stories of moonshine in Tennessee. Yet still entertaining)
    I did not hate this movie. It just showed me nothing to talk about the next day. Except maybe how beautiful Shoshana was in that red dress, or how the german’s head blew apart by the baseball bat.
    Entertaining nonsense? yes. A good movie? sure, why not. My favorite Tarantino? Not even close.

Leave a Reply

