Time is waiting, (I) only got 4 minutes to Blog the world

Whilst things are slow at work, lets do some catchup, my loyal blogaholics.

I’m gonna split this up to two blogs so you don’t have to read so much. This one will be about rehearsals for Spelling Bee and the other one will be about the car.

Man, I was worse off than I thought. After the Friday/Saturday shift at work, I was planning on going to take a nap in the Zach parking lot before the 11-11 rehearsal. Unfortunately, because of the rain, my dogs were in the house since before Friday nights rehearsal-that’s a long time for a dog to not use the potty. Instead of the planned nap, I drove home to let the dogs out (hoo! hoohoo! hoo!), and take a quick nap on the couch. Two of the dogs did their thing, came back in, and I went to the couch, took off my shirt,  and set the alarm on my phone for an hour and half later, leaving me a little over an hour to shower and head to rehearsal. At my job, we’re not supposed to have phones on the floor, so when I cheat and still do it-sometimes I text Josh to invite him to a chat-I put the phone on silent. In my absentmindedness and fatigue, I forgot to take the phone OFF of silent when I set the alarm.

What felt like 20 minutes after I laid on the couch, one of the dogs started scratching at the door and whining to get out. I thought to myself, “I just let you out!” and, as I grabbed my phone to look at the time, said, “C’mon guys. I need to sleep, its just… 12:30?!?”

I was an hour and a half late for rehearsal. I lept off the couch and over the table barricading the dogs to the tile floor in such a spartan manner you would have thought I was a trained triathlete. Unfortunately, that uncharacteristically awesome feat of agility wasted ALL of the energy I just replenished. I didn’t care who had to go, I pushed all the dogs out the door, ran to my bathroom, squeezed some toothpaste on my hand (yeah hand not finger), got a mouthfull of water to rinse, put the same shirt back on, and flew out the door, calling the stage manager on the way. I went to rehearsal without having showered, in the same clothes from the day before, and feeling nasty. Everyone knows my schedule and they were all very understanding, which is great and all, but I just don’t like being that unprofessional. I’m not very good at many things, so the things I am good at I want to be able to set an example and be someone everyone wants to work with in that field-no excuses.

By the end of the day, I was on autopilot and I didn’t even really realize it. It was the weirdest feeling I had had in a while. My body was doing the actions before my brain told it to. The fatigue had affected my performance; everyone was laughing at me. Not in a bad way, mind you. It didn’t hurt my feelings at all, its just I was THAT tired. I was slower, lower pitched, just barely off key, and grunted a lot. I don’t know how to best describe it, but I’m laughing as a type about it.

After rehearsal was (fiiiiiiiiiiinally) over, I stopped at HEB and got some epson salts. When I (fiiiiiiiiiiiiinally) got home, I filled the tub with hot water, poured in some salts, and watched Glee on my laptop (yeah I fiiiiiiiiiiiiinally got that back but its still messed up-more on that in person if you’re interested).

The next day, I woke up before the alarm went off. I guess my subconscious didn’t want to trust me again. I was feeling hungry but didn’t feel like cooking. A hankering for a BK breakfast hit me. I couldn’t remember what time they stopped serving breakfast, so I figgerd I could just go get a breakfast sammich and some cheesy tots and head to the theater early; take my time eating breakfast and watch the other episode of Glee. On the topic of breakfast: bacon is one of my favorite things ever. Magnolia Cafe has some of the best bacon around. But I do not care much for fast food bacon. Its usually burnt, over-crispy, paper thin and flavorless. So instead of the double meat (sausage and bacon) croissanwich, I asked to substitute an extra sausage patty for the bacon. They still gave it to me the normal way after confirming they would indulge my sausage lust. “Have it your way” my ass.

Sunday’s 11-11 rehearsal was quite an adventure itself. Amy, one of the actresses, is pregnant. She was not there in the morning due to cramps. We were all okay with it and proceeded with rehearsal, while Jill’s understudy, (another) Amy, filled in for Amy. After lunch, she still wasn’t there. We received word that she had to go to the ER. By the end of the night, she was recovering after surgery to take out her appendix. She and the baby are fine, and she plans on being at the rehearsal tomorrow night. I’m trying to be optimistic about this-the doctors said she was supposed to be on her feet by today. But someone pointed out “on your feet” isn’t the same as “dancing and singing”. I agree, but I don’t know anyone who has had this kind of surgery and I don’t know the realistic time frame for recovery. Add to that Amy’s determination. We’ll see. Please keep her in your prayers. Or sacrifices. Or cult meetings. I don’t know. Whatever deity you believe in. Except the jew god. (I’M KIDDING!)

Bully.

(don’t forget the other blog if you wanna know about the car)

Leave a Reply

