I’m going to Bloggaroo

I decided I’m gonna try to include an image that has something to do with a topic in each blog…

But I digress…

Forget week, this has been quite a month! Since your last Baconblog fix:

I was wrong about the awards. It wasn’t for the ACoT (Austin Circle of Theaters), but for ACT (Austin Critics’ Table). Mistake aside, I ended up winning the supporting role, along with three other amazing actors, including pal Sean Martin.

I saw A-Team, Get Him to the Greek, and Toy Story 3. Toy Story 3 was incredible. It was one of those kinds of films that only made you want more, but happy to see it end where it did. I would love to see more, but I don’t think they can justify a story, let alone find one that’s better. Although I did say that for the previous sequels.

I got to see Clay for about an hour whilst he was in town to pick up some theater chairs from SEU.

I finally recieved my check from the seat belt commercial and paid some bills. But not only did my agent forget to take their 15% off the extra I was paid for the ADR (Additional Dialogue Recording), the check was more than originally negotiated! AND (just yesterday) I got another (small) check from FOX for Prison Break!

With the extra cash, I bought myself Justice League: Crisis on Two Earths and the Doctor Who: Complete David Tennant Specials. Good stuff!

I made a new Doctor Who friend. She came over and we watched the newest ep and fun was had. She ended up getting me sick though; she left her sweater mixed with some pillows on my couch. Her sweater was full of cat dander and fur (I’m allergic to cats). To give you an idea of how allergic I am, I got sick Sunday, and here it is, 3 A.M. Wednesday morning and I’m barely at about 85%. But still Sat night was a blast, and I look forward to more of the same this Sat. And I’m gonna make some of my kickass meatloaf! And yes, it does kickass, cause its not your usual bland meatloaf.

On top of making new friends, I’ve actually been awake (and not tired) at the same time as some old friends, and had some spare cash, and had the time to hang out and catch up. Except I couldn’t attend the monthly Supper Club meeting, I apologize to them and will hopefully make it next month.

I got a random call from my TX DOT PSA director. He wanted to see my availability for another PSA. It was a quick turn around and he didn’t really have the time, or desire, to hold auditions. He wanted to make sure I could do it before he pitched using me again to “the board”. They approved, and I went in Monday morning for a new PSA. This one is a Don’t Drink and Drive campaign that is going to be aired during the World Cup. Now that’s a fast turnover! They even had their editing guy ON SET with his equipment doing the editing in another room while we were still filming.

The shoot itself was a blast. We had real catering this time! Man, that chicken at lunch was taystee! This one is about three guys (Juan was brought back in too, but we’re not the same guys from the seat belt one) getting ready to go to the World Cup, but only one guy can drive… the Designated Driver. Who will it be? Unless I already told you, you won’t find out till the commercial airs! There’s one part where we scream, and boy, we took a lot of takes on that one. It didn’t help my sinus headache; we almost lost our voices, and we got a little light headed. The three guys have face paint on; I barely have any on… originally I was supposed to have just as much as the other guys, cause they didn’t want the audience to recognize me and think I was supposed to be the same guy from the seat belt spot. I was also supposed to be in body paint! The paint ended up not being thick enough for their likings, so that was nixed. And then they decided full face paint covered my facial expression too much, so they minimalized it. Hehehe.

I knew ahead of time what I wanted to be my shoot souvenir. There’s a giant key in the spot and I thought that would be awesome to have. Unfortunately, someone thought they would use it for some print ads… some verification/confirmation would have been nice. Anyway, since I ended up not in paint but shirted, I was able to keep my shirt.

After I was wrapped, some of the clients’ people (client=people who the commercial represents/kind of like producers) came up to me and said if it were up to them, I’d be their main guy. One even said it WAS up to her, and that she’ll see me for the next one. Here’s hopin!

Hokay. Now its gonna take a turn into being personal blog, but its on the acting side of my personal life.

What keeps me going, if you will, to become an actor.

A few years back, I lost my job at ARA around the same time I did my bit on Prison Break. It wasn’t a hefty paycheck, but it was enough to keep me afloat for a bit. I was enjoying myself during that time. Joseph, who was also on Prison Break, was staying with me at the time. Things were great. I was waking up early, going to the gym, playing video games with Joseph, eating sensibly, spending more time with my dogs, watching tv and going to movies pretty much whenever I wanted, hanging with friends whenever I could and just basically doing whatever I wanted whenever I wanted; and because of this, I slept better and I was healthier and losing weight. One day, while having toast with coffee and watching a Jake 2.0 marathon with Joseph, I told him how I realized my lifestyle and health was so much better because of this. Without thinking about it, he looked at me and said, “Welcome to being an actor.”

I want to go back to that. And I know I’m close to it.

We all have our dreams and whatnot, and don’t get me wrong, I’d love fame and fortune, but I’m fine with just enough success. When I get to that point, I’ll be fine with, as Steve Martin put it in his book, “Born Standing Up” (recommended reading), going to a restaraunt and not looking at the prices.

I’m almost afraid for this month to end! I don’t want things to back to how they were going before June…

Bully.

2 Responses to “I’m going to Bloggaroo”

  1. Sounds like things are working out well! Is there anywhere a gal with no TV in New York state would be able to see these commercials?

    Also, did you watch the National Spelling Bee? They used music from Putnam County!

    • doctorbacon Says:

      Sorry, Abbey. The commercial is for TX DOT… meaning its a regional commercial… shown only in TX. So… actually… wait… yes! There is a place you’ll be able to see them! When I get my copy, I’ll put them on my FB profile.

Leave a Reply

